Home / Articles / Eight Forms Of Sri Lakshmi Devi-Ashta Lakshmi

Eight Forms Of Sri Lakshmi Devi-Ashta Lakshmi

Goddess Lakshmi Devi
Eight Forms Of Sri Lakshmi Devi-Ashta Lakshmi
Eight Forms Of goddess Lakshmi Devi, Eight Forms Of goddess Sri Mahalakshmi, Eight Forms Of Ashta Lakshmi, Eight Forms Of Ashtalakshmi, 8 Forms Of goddess Lakshmi Devi, 8 Forms Of goddess Sri Mahalakshmi, 8 Forms Of Ashta Lakshmi, 8 Forms Of Ashtalakshmi, eight avatars of Lakshmi Devi, 8 avatars of Lakshmi Devi, various forms goddess Lakshmi Devi, various forms goddess Mahalakshmi

Sri Lakshmi or Mahalaxmi :-
Goddess of Wealth, Light, Wisdom, the lotus.flower and fortune, and secondarily of luck, beauty, courage and fertility. Due to Her Motherly feelings and being the consort of Narayan (Supreme Being), She is believed as the Mother of the Universe. She is the consort of Vishnu and married Him in His incarnations Rama (in her incarnation as Sita), Krishna (as Rukmini) and Venkateshwara (as Alamelu). In Vaishnava traditions, She is believed to be the Mother Goddess and the Shakti of Narayan

Primarily eight kinds of wealth are established, associated with Goddess Sri Mahalakshmi. They are:
Adi Lakshmi
Dhanya Lakshmi
Dhairya Lakshmi
Gaja Lakshmi
Santana Lakshmi
Vijaya Lakshmi
Vidya Lakshmi
Dhana Lakshmi

Goddess Sri Mahalakshmi is worshipped by those who wish to acquire or to preserve wealth. It is believed that Sri Mahalakshmi (wealth) dwells in those houses which are clean and where the people are hardworking.
Eight forms of Lakshmi Devi-Ashta Lakshmi (Ashtalakshmi) are as follows:

(1) Adilakshmi:
Mother Lakshmi resides with Lord Narayana in Vaikuntha, the abode of Lord Narayana. She is known as Rama, which means “bringing happiness to the mankind”. She is also known as Indira (who holds lotus or purity). In this form, Lakshmi is normally seen serving Sri Narayana. Adi Lakshmi or Rama Lakshmi serving Sri Narayana is symbolic of her serving the whole creation. Adi Lakshmi and Narayana are not two different entities but one only. Lakshmi is Shakti. Lakshmi is the Power of Narayana.

(2) Dhanyalakshmi:
Dhanya means grains. Lakshmi is the Goddess of the Harvest and the Devi who blesses with abundance and success in harvest.

(3) Dhairyalakshmi:
This form of mother Lakshmi grants the boon of infinite courage and strength. Those, who are in tune with infinite inner power, are always bound to have victory. Those who worship mother Dhairya Lakshmi lead a life with tremendous patience and inner stability.

(4) Gajalakshmi:
In the holy book of Srimad Bhagavata the story of the churning of the ocean by Gods and demons is explained in detail. Sage Vyasa writes that Lakshmi came out of the ocean during the churning of the ocean (Samudra Manthan). So she is known as a daughter of the ocean. She came out of the ocean sitting on a full-bloomed lotus and also having lotus flowers in both hands with two elephants by her sides holding beautiful vessels.

In the family life, the children are the greatest treasure. Those who worship this particular form of Sri Lakshmi, known as a Santan Lakshmi, are bestowed with the grace of mother Lakshmi and have wealth in the form of desirable children with good health and a long life.

(6) Vijayalakshmi:
Vijay is victory. Vijay is to get success in all undertakings and all different facets of life. Vijay is to conquer the lower nature. Hence those, with grace of mother Vijay Lakshmi, have victory everywhere, at all time, in all conditions.

(7) Dhanalakshmi:
Dhana is wealth. Wealth comes in many forms: Nature, Love, Peace, Health, Prosperity, Luck, Virtues, Family, Food, Land, Water, Will Power, Intellect, Character, etc. With the grace of mother Dhana Lakshmi we will get all these in abundance.

(8) Vidyalakshmi:
Vidya is education. Serenity, Regularity, Absence of Vanity, Sincerity, Simplicity, Veracity, Equanimity, Fixity, Non-irritability, Adaptability Humility, Tenacity, Integrity, Nobility, Magnanimity, Charity, Generosity and Purity are the eighteen qualities imbibed through proper education that only can give immortality.