Home / Articles / How Is Krishna Pushkaralu Celebrated

How Is Krishna Pushkaralu Celebrated



How Is Krishna Pushkaralu Celebrated
Pinda pradanam In krishna Pushkaralu, krishna Pushkaralu Snanam, krishna Pushkaralu Bath, Krishna Pushkaralu, Krishna Pushkaralu Story, krishna pushkaram, Krishna Pushkaralu Ghats In Telangana, Krishna Pushkaralu Ghats In Andhra Pradesh

Pushkaram-Pushkaralu is an Indian festival dedicated to river krishna by worshiping River Krishna and seeking her blessings. In Telugu-speaking states it is called as Pushkaralu, Godavari (Godavari Pushkaralu), Krishna (Krishna Pushkaralu), Pranhita (Pranhita Pushkaralu) are celebrated in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

History Behind Pushkaram-Pushkaralu
As per the legend, Lord Shiva blessed a brahmin with a power to purify the holy rivers hence he was known as Pushkaram (the one who nourishes). While traveling from one zodiac sign to another, Jupiter(Bruhaspati) requested Pushkar to make the 12 sacred rivers holy. So he decided to enter one of the 12 sacred rivers when Jupiter(Bruhaspati) traveled from one zodiac sign to another.

Krishna Pushkaralu:
Krishna Pushkaram is a festival of River Krishna which normally occurs once in 12 years. The Pushkaram is observed for a period of 12 days from the time of entry of Jupiter(Bruhaspati) into Virgo (Kanya Rasi). People of all walks of life, irrespective of caste, color, creed and religion participate in Pushkaralu

When Is The Correct Time To Celebrate Krishna Pushkaralu:

The first 12 days when the Jupiter enters the zodiac sign and the last 12 days when it exits the zodiac sign are considered as most auspicious.

The first twelve days are known as Adi Pushkaram, and the last twelve days are called Anthya Pushkaram.

What To Do In Krishna Pushkaralu:

Pindapradanam – This is a unique ritual in which the devotee offers Pindas (leaf with offerings to the departed souls is set afloat in water) to ancestors who were deceased. It is done with the belief that their souls will be set free and attain salvation.

Mahasankalpam – The Pooja is performed by priests on the banks of River Krishna for removing one’s bad karma and sins.

Laghusankalpam – This ritual involves taking a holy dip in the River during Krishna Pushkaralu by uttering the names and gotras to appease God and fulfill your wishes in this life.

Sariganga Snanam – This ritual is performed for a better family life, especially better relations with children and spouse.

Prayaschittam – This ritual means that men and women accept their mistakes and misdeeds to God and seek forgiveness.

Gauri Pooja – Kumkum Archana and Gouri Pooja are performed to appease Goddess Gouri (Goddess Parvati) and seek her blessings during Krishna Pushkaralu.

Ganga Pooja – It is believed that during the Krishna Pushkaralu period, water from the 12 holy rivers is divinely mixed with River Krishna. The Ganga Pooja is performed to seek the blessings of all the Rivers at once.

Musivayanam – It is a tradition in which a married woman is respected and treated with gifts. These gifts can also be offered to the husband when the wife dies. It is believed that by doing this Pooja, the wife’s soul can attain salvation.

Krishna Pushkaram Ghats In Andhra Pradesh-Vijayawada:

Durga Ghat : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-Durga Temple, Ravi Chettu Centre

Pushkar Ghat : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-VMC Office, PNBS

Padmavathi Ghat : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-PNBS

Metla Bazar : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-Bandar Locks

Sithanagaram Ghat : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-PNBS, Sithanagaram

Punnami Ghat : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-Hotel Punnami, Kummaripalem Centre

Siva Kshetram : Nearest Bus Stop to reach this Ghat-Mandadam Centre

Krishna Pushkaram Ghats In Telangana
Krishna river goes through only Nalgonda and Mahbubnagar districts in Telangana. Krishna Pushkaralu will celebrate in Telangana Two Districts Mahaboobnagar and Nalgonda.

Mahaboobnagar District Krishna Pushkaralu places are: Jurala, Beechupalli, Rangapur, Alampur, Nadi Agraharam, Chintarevula, Nandimalla (Narayanpet), Krishna, Pasupula and Panchadev Padu (Maktal), Chellepad (Weepanagandla), Jataprole (Weepanagandla), Somasila (Kollapur), Malleswaram, Manchalakatta and Lingala.

In Nalgonda District Krishna Pushkaralu places are: Nagarjunasagar, Wadapally in Damaracharla mandal, Mattapally and , apart from 5 places of Mellacheruvu mandal, Utlapally in Peddavura mandal, Adavidevulapally in Damaracharla, Mahankaligudem in Nereducharla are locations.